Pick of the week: Visit the The Anglican Rite Old Catholic Church's Pro-Life Page
This Site Anglican News Resources Parishes and Dioceses
Weekly Update Hot Issues Clergy Youth Canada Britain/World
Start Here News Centre Music Discussions USA Not-In-Communion

Not "In Communion"

The Churches listed here are not "in communion" with the worldwide Anglican communion as under the Archbishop of Canterbury, but nonetheless hold a number of Anglican/Episcopal traditions in their beliefs, liturgies, and practices.
Page Editor: Margaret Smythe (tradwell@netcomuk.co.uk)
Please put ANGLICANS ONLINE in the subject line of your email.

Anglican Catholic Church
"We affirm that the Church of our fathers, sustained by the most Holy Trinity, lives yet, and that we, being moved by the Holy Spirit to walk only in that way, are determined to continue in the Catholic Faith, Apostolic Order, Orthodox Worship and Evangelical Witness of the traditional Anglican Church, doing all things necessary for the continuance of the same." (From the Affirmation of St. Louis)

Anglican Church in America
A jurisdicition of the worldwide Traditional Anglican Communion. It is a part of the one holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church and has maintained the historic Apostolic Succession.

  • The Diocese of the Eastern United States - includes the states of Alabama, Delaware, The District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Viginia.
  • The Diocese of the Missouri Valley - includes the States of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.
  • The Diocese of the Southwest - includes the States of Arkansas, Colorado, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.
  • The Diocese of the West - includes the States of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.
  • The Diocese of the Northeast - includes the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachussetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

The Anglican Province of America
Traditional Episcopal, Evangelical and Catholic. Established 1970.
1928 Book of Common Prayer.

Anglican Province of Christ the King
In 1977, Episcopal clergy and laity gathered in St. Louis, Missouri, and set forth a statement of faith called the "Affirmation of Saint Louis" which expressed their commitment as Episcopalians to orthodox Christianity. The next step was the creation of the Diocese (now Province) of Christ the King in 1978, whose purpose is to put the St. Louis statement of faith into action. The Anglican Province of Christ the King uses the 1928 Book of Common Prayer and trains men for the priesthood at its national seminary. The Province has three dioceses which cover the entire United States.

The Affirmation of St. Louis
The Affirmation of St. Louis is the foundational document for the Churches listed above.

The Anglican Orthodox Church**NEW**
A low church, evangelical, sacramental (Holy Communion and Baptism are sacraments) which uses the 1928 Prayer Book. Only men are admitted to the priesthood, Apostolic succession is maintained, the Bible is believed to be inerrant and Biblical morality is taught. Recently the AOC has started a new Synod whereby independent priests can take advantage of their seminary and the services of a bishop.

Reformed Episcopal Church
The Reformed Episcopal Church, holding "the faith once delivered to the saints," declares its belief in the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testament as the Word of God, and the sole Rule of Faith and Practice; in the Creed commonly called the Apostles' Creed; in the Divine institution of the Sacraments of Baptism and the Lord's Supper; and in the doctrines of grace substantially as they are contained in the Thirty-nine Articles of Religion. This Church recognizes and adheres to Episcopacy, not as of Divine right, but as a very ancient and desirable form of Church polity."

Southern Episcopal Church
The Southern Episcopal Church is a traditional Episcopal Church that is "continuing steadfastly in the apostles doctrine, and fellowship and in the breaking of bread and in the prayers." Acts 2:42.

Anglican Rite Old Catholic Church
An Independant Catholic Church made up of several Congregations located in Texas. They are growing with over 5 new priests joining recently. The new priests come from various religious backgrounds including the Roman Catholic, Episcopal, and Orthodox Churches. They use the Anglican Rite in worship which dates back several hundred years. They also use the 1928 Edition Prayer Book. They have a link to the F.I.O.C.B (Federation of Independent Orthodox and Catholic Bishops) Home Page.

Evangelical Episcopal Church
The Evangelical Episcopal Church is an inclusive, evangelical and Spirit-filled expression of the Episcopal church which seeks to meet the needs of unchurched and churched people in the 21st century. We agree on the sufficiency of Jesus Christ's completed work and the sufficiency of the Scriptures as the basis for our corporate life and worship. We affirm the essentials of the faith as revealed in the Apostle's Creed, the Nicene Creed, the 39 Articles and the Lambeth Quadrilateral/II. We affirm the Baltimore Declaration and the Chicago Call. We conform to the Book of Common Prayer, while encouraging flexibility in liturgical services, such as youth and seeker services.

Evangelical Anglican Church in America
The Evangelical Anglican Church in America describes itself as being "of Old Catholic parentage." Established in 1995, the church has six parishes in North America, 41 clergy including postulants, two bishops and a functioning seminary. "One essential difference between the EACA and other independent Old Catholic, Orthodox and Anglican bodies
is found in its emphatic and emphatically public committment to inclusivity."

This web site is maintained privately. Though not a sanctioned organ of any official church body, it does list links to official church sites and documents. Opinions expressed are entirely those of the editors and may or may not reflect the position of the church at large. Anglicans Online! does not receive any funds or reimbursement for any corporate names which may appear on this site. All contents © 1996 Tod K. Maffin.